First 5 California Commission

The California Children and Families Act, passed by voters in 1998, called for the formation of a State Commission to oversee and support the funding of education, health, and child care programs for children ages 0 to 5 and their families. This Commission, also known as First 5 California, works with 58 First 5 county commissions statewide to develop and fund programs for young children that are tailored to the needs of local communities.

First 5 California's Commission is made up of seven members appointed by the Governor, the Speaker of the Assembly, and the Senate Rules Committee. The Secretary of the California Health and Human Services Agency appoints an ex-officio member to the Commission. Following are the names and brief bios for each of the First 5 California Commissioners:

Upcoming Commission Meeting

April 23, 2015

Marriott Courtyard Sacramento Airport Hotel
2101 River Plaza Drive
American River Room
Sacramento, CA 95833
  • Meeting Agenda
  • View Map
  • Meeting Handouts
  • Meeting Archives
  • Commission Members

    George Halvorson, Chair

    Joyce Iseri, Vice Chair

    Conway Collis

    Muntu Davis

    Casey McKeever

    Magdalena Carrasco

    Kathryn Icenhower

    Ex Officio Members

    Diana Dooley, Ex Officio Member
    Health and Human Services Agency