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STATE BUDGET AND LEGISLATIVE UPDATE

SUMMARY

First 5 California (F5CA) staff will provide an update on the final outcome of F5CA
Level 1 priority bills of interest for the 2015 legislative session.

LETTERS OF SUPPORT AND CLOSELY MONITORED LEGISLATION

F5CA took positions and submitted formal letters of support on 19 pieces of legislation,
and closely monitored 27 bills in the 2015 regular session. Highlighted below are the
final outcomes for three bills of high importance:

AB 47 (McCarty): State Preschool Program — This bill would require, on or before
June 30, 2018, all eligible children who are not enrolled in transitional kindergarten
to have access to the state preschool program the year before they enter
kindergarten, if their parents wish to enroll them, contingent upon the appropriation
of sufficient funding in the annual Budget Act for this purpose.

Governor Action: The Governor vetoed AB 47 stating that last year's education
omnibus trailer bill already codified the intent to make preschool and other full-day,
full year early education and care opportunities available to all low-income children.
The discussion on expanding state preschool, which takes into account rates paid to
providers as well as access and availability for families, should be considered in the
budget process, as it is every year. A bill that sets an arbitrary deadline, contingent
on a sufficient appropriation, is unnecessary.

AB 74 (Calderon): Child Care Facilities: Regulatory Visits — This bill would have
required the California Department of Social Services to conduct annual
unannounced licensing visits to all community care facilities.

Governor Action: The Governor vetoed AB 74 stating that the 2015-16 Budget Act
increased the frequency of inspections of licensed child care facilities to once every
three years. The cost of further increasing the frequency of inspections should be
considered in the budget process.
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e AB 908 (Gomez): Disability Compensation: Disability Insurance — This bill would
increase the maximum duration of the Paid Family Leave (PFL) insurance benefits
from 6 to 8 weeks, and would establish a minimum weekly benefit amount of $50.
Status: 2 Year Bill

SECOND EXTRAORDINARY SESSION ON HEALTH CARE LEGISLATION

F5CA took positions and submitted formal letters of support on eight health care bills in

the special session that addressed tobacco cessation and taxation. The special session
on health care did not conclude with the end of regular session. Conference committees

have been announced for both special session, and the committees may be called into
action as early as this month.

PRIORITY BILLS OF INTEREST
During the 2015 legislative session, 38 F5CA priority bills of interest were identified.

Attached is an Executive Summary and Detailed Report identifying the final legislative
action on those bills.

STAFF RECOMMENDATION

Staff is not recommending any action at this time.

ATTACHMENT

Executive Summary and Detailed Report of 2015 Legislative Bills of Interest
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EXECUTIVE SUMMARY AND DETAILED REPORT OF
2015 LEGISLATIVE BILLS OF INTEREST

FINAL OUTCOMES FOR LEVEL 1 REGULAR SESSION BILLS

BILL # SUBJECT FIRST 5 FINAL
AUTHOR POSITION OUTCOME/STATUS
AB 47 State Preschool Program Support VETOED
(McCarty)
AB 50 Medi-Cal: Evidence-Based Home Support VETOED
(Mullin) Visiting Programs
AB 74 Child Care Facilities: Regulatory Visits Support VETOED
(Calderon)
AB 216 Product Sales to Minors: Vapor Support CHAPTERED
(Garcia) Products
AB 427 Early Primary Programs: Child Care Support Failed Passage
(Weber) Services: Eligibility: Military Families Senate Appropriations
AB 598 Child Care: Family Child Care Home Support 2 Year Bill
(Rendon) | Education Networks
AB 608 CalFresh: School Meals Support Failed Passage
(Gordon) Senate Appropriations
AB 713 Elementary Education: Kindergarten Support Failed Passage
(Weber) Senate Appropriations
AB 908 Disability Compensation: Disability Support 2 Year Bill
(Gomez) Insurance
AB 765 Child Care and Development: Support Failed Passage
(Ridley- Reimbursement Rates Assembly Appropriations
Thomas) Suspense File




FINAL OUTCOMES FOR LEVEL 1 REGULAR SESSION BILLS (Cont’d)

BILL # SUBJECT FIRST 5 FINAL
AUTHOR POSITION OUTCOME/STATUS
AB 1133 School-Based Early Mental Health None Failed Passage

(Achadijian) | Intervention and Prevention Services Assembly Appropriations
Support Program
AB 1161 Preschool: Privately Funded Pilot None Failed Passage

(Olsen) Program: Tax Credits Senate Appropriations
AB 1162 Medi-Cal: Tobacco Cessation Support VETOED
(Holden)

AB 1240 Pupil Nutrition: Free or Reduced-Price Support Failed Passage

(Bonta) Meals: Breakfast Assembly Appropriations
AB 1357 Children and Family Health Promotion Support 2 Year Bill

(Bloom) Program: Sweetened Beverage Tax
AB 1396 Public Health Finance None 2 Year Bill

(Bonta)

ACR 38 California Task Force on Family Support CHAPTERED

(Brown) Caregiving
ACR 77 California Early Intervention Services Support CHAPTERED

(Stone) Act
ACR 106 Diaper Need Awareness Week None Assembly Rules for

(Gonzalez) Assignment

SB 24 Electronic Cigarettes: Licensing and None 2 Year Bill

(HilN Restrictions
SB 140 Electronic Cigarettes Support Failed Passage
(Leno) Assembly Governmental
Organization

SB 151 Tobacco Products: Minimum Legal Support 2 Year Bill

(Hernandez) | Age




BILL # SUBJECT FIRST 5 FINAL
AUTHOR POSITION OUTCOME/STATUS
SB 203 Sugar-Sweetened Beverages: Safety Support 2 Year Bill
(Monning) | Warnings
SB 567 Child Care Programs: Continuity of None Failed Passage
(Liu) Services Senate Appropriations
SB 591 Cigarette and Tobacco Products None 2 Year Bill
(Pan) Taxes: California Tobacco Tax Act of
2015
SB 670 Income Taxes: Credit: Child Care None Failed Passage
(Jackson) Assembly Appropriations
Suspense File
SB 792 Day Care Facilities: Immunizations: Support CHAPTERED
(Mendoza) | Exemptions

BILL # SUBJECT FIRST 5 STATUS
AUTHOR POSITION

ABX2 6 Electronic Cigarettes Support Assembly Floor
(Cooper) Third Reading

ABX2 8 Tobacco Products: Minimum Legal Support Assembly Floor

(Wood) Age Third Reading
ABX2 10 Local Taxes: Authorization: Cigarettes Support Assembly Floor

(Bloom) and Tobacco Products Third Reading
ABX2 11 Cigarette and Tobacco Product Support Assembly Floor
(Nazarian) | Licensing: Fees and Funding Third Reading




SECOND EXTRAORDINARY SESSION ON HEALTH CARE — LEVEL 1 BILLS (Cont’d)

BILL # SUBJECT FIRST 5 STATUS
AUTHOR POSITION
ABX2 16 | Public Health: Cigarette and Tobacco None Assembly Public Health
(Bonta) Products: Electronic Cigarettes: and Developmental
Taxes: California Health Care, Services
Research, and Prevention Tobacco
Tax Act of 2015
SBX2 5 Electronic Cigarettes Support Assembly Desk for
(Leno) Assignment
SBX2 7 Tobacco Products: Minimum Legal Support Assembly Desk for
(Hernandez) | Age Assignment
SBX2 9 Local Taxes: Authorization: Cigarettes Support Assembly Desk for
(McGuire) | and Tobacco Products Assignment
SBX2 10 Cigarette and Tobacco Product Support Assembly Desk for
(Beall) Licensing: Fees and Funding Assignment
SBX2 13 Public Health: Cigarette and Tobacco None Senate Public Health and
(Pan) Products: Electronic Cigarettes: Developmental Services
Taxes: California Health Care,
Research, and Prevention Tobacco
Tax Act of 2015
SBX2 14 Tobacco: Electronic Cigarettes: None Senate Floor
(Hernandez) | Taxes: Managed Care Organization Third Reading

Provider Tax: In-Home Support
Services
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AB 608

Level 1
Support

AB 1240

Level 1
Support

AB 1357

Level 1
Support

(Gordon) CalFresh: School Meals

Current Text: Introduced 2/24/2015

Final Outcome/Status: FAILED PASSAGE (Senate Appropriations)
Summary: Current law requires a county welfare department to compile a
list of emergency food providers and make that list available upon request.
This bill would instead require a county human services agency to compile
a list of emergency and supplemental food assistance providers. The bill
would also require a county human services agency to inform households
applying for CalFresh that if the household is certified for CalFresh,
specified children in the household are income-eligible for the WIC
Program and all children in the household are directly certified for the
National School Lunch Program and School Breakfast Program without
further application.

(Bonta) Pupil Nutrition: Free or Reduced-Price Meals: Breakfast

Current Text: Amended 5/4/2015

Final Outcome/Status: FAILED PASSAGE (Assembly Appropriations)
Summary: This bill would require each school district or county office of
education maintaining any kindergarten or any of grades 1 to 12 to make a
nutritionally adequate breakfast available for all of the pupils in a school,
when at least 40 percent of the pupils enrolled are eligible for Free and
Reduced Price Meals.

(Bloom) Children and Family Health Promotion Program

Current Text: Amended 4/29/2015

Final Outcome/Status: 2 YEAR BILL

Summary: This bill, subject to specified exemptions, would impose a fee
on every distributor for the privilege of distributing in this state bottled
sweetened beverages, and concentrate, either as concentrate or as
sweetened beverages derived from that concentrate, at the rate of $0.02
per fluid ounce. The Board of Equalization would be responsible for
administering and collecting the fee and registering the distributors upon
whom the fee is imposed. These amounts would be deposited into the
Children and Family Health Promotion Trust Fund, created by the bill. The
bill would require moneys in the fund, upon appropriation by the
Legislature, to be allocated to the Department of Public Health, the
Department of Health Care Services, the California Department of
Education, and the Department of Food and Agriculture for various
purposes of statewide diabetes and childhood obesity treatment and
prevention activities and programs, including awarding competitive grants
to local governments, nonprofit organizations, school districts, and other
entities for activities in support of the bill's objectives.
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ACR 106

Level 1

SB 203

Level 1
Support

SB 792

Level 1
Support

(Gonzalez) Diaper Need Awareness Week

Current Text: Introduced 9/02/15

Final Outcome/Status: Assembly Rules for Assignment

Summary: This measure would proclaim the week of September 28, 2015, to
October 4, 2015, as Diaper Need Awareness Week and encourage California
citizens to donate generously to organizations that distribute diapers to
families in need.

(Monning) Sugar-Sweetened Beverages: Safety Warnings

Current Text: Amended 4/6/2015

Final Outcome/Status: 2 YEAR BILL

Summary: This bill would establish the Sugar-Sweetened Beverages
Safety Warning Act, which would prohibit a person from distributing,
selling, or offering for sale a sugar-sweetened beverage in a sealed
beverage container, or a multipack of sugar-sweetened beverages, in this
state unless the beverage container or multipack bears a safety warning,
as prescribed. The bill also would require every person who owns, leases,
or otherwise legally controls the premises where a vending machine or
beverage dispensing machine is located, or where a sugar-sweetened
beverage is sold in an unsealed container to place a specified safety
warning in certain locations, including on the exterior of any vending
machine that includes a sugar-sweetened beverage for sale.

(Mendoza) Day Care Facilities: Immunizations: Exemptions

Current Text: Enrolled 9/10/2015

Final Outcome/Status: CHAPTERED

Summary: This bill, commencing September 1, 2016, prohibits a person
from being employed or volunteering at a day care center or a family day
care home if he or she has not been immunized against influenza, pertussis,
and measles. The bill specifies circumstances under which a person would
be exempt from the immunization requirement, based on medical safety,
current immunity, declining the influenza vaccination, or the date upon which
he or she was hired, as specified. The bill requires any person hired as a
teacher in a day care center to present evidence of a current tuberculosis
clearance.

EARLY LEARNING AND CARE

AB 47

Level 1
Support

(McCarty) State Preschool Program

Current Text: Enrolled 9/23/15

Final Outcome/Status: VETOED

Summary: This bill would have required, on or before June 30, 2018, all
eligible children who are not enrolled in transitional kindergarten to have
access to the state preschool program the year before they enter kindergarten,
if their parents wish to enroll them, contingent upon the appropriation of
sufficient funding in the annual Budget Act for this purpose.

Veto Message: The Governor vetoed AB 47 stating that last year's education
omnibus trailer bill already codified the intent to make preschool and other full-
day, full year early education and care opportunities available to all low-
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AB 74

Level 1
Support

AB 427

Level 1
Support

AB 598

Level 1
Support

AB 713

Level 1
Support

income children. The discussion on expanding state preschool, which takes
into account rates paid to providers as well as access and availability for
families, should be considered in the budget process, as it is every year. A bill
that sets an arbitrary deadline, contingent on a sufficient appropriation, is
unnecessary.

(Calderon) Care Facilities: Regulatory Visits

Current Text: Enrolled 9/11/15

Final Outcome/Status: VETOED

Summary: This bill would have required the California Department of Social
Services to conduct annual unannounced licensing visits to all community
care facilities.

Veto Message: The Governor vetoed AB 74 stating that the 2015-16 Budget
Act increased the frequency of inspections of licensed child care facilities to
once every three years. The cost of further increasing the frequency of
inspections should be considered in the budget process.

(Weber) Early Primary Programs: Child Care Services: Eligibility:

Military Families

Current Text: Amended 5/6/2015

Final Outcome/Status: FAILED PASSAGE (Senate Appropriations)
Summary: This bill would exclude from income the amount of the basic
allowance for housing provided to an individual who is on federal active
duty, state active duty, active duty for special work, or Active Guard and
Reserve duty in the military that is equal to the lowest rate of the allowance
for the military housing area in which the individual resides for purposes of
determining eligibility for child care and development services.

(Rendon) Child Care: Family Child Care Home Education Networks
Current Text: Introduced 2/24/2015

Final Outcome/Status: 2 YEAR BILL

Summary: Current law requires each family child care home education
network to assess the educational quality of the program offered in each
family child care home in the network. This bill would require that tools
used to make these assessments be appropriate to family child care home
settings.

(Weber) Elementary Education: Kindergarten

Current Text: Amended 6/1/2015

Final Outcome/Status: FAILED PASSAGE (Senate Appropriations)
Summary: This bill, beginning with the 2017-18 school year, would require
a child to have completed one year of kindergarten before he or she may
be admitted to the first grade, thereby imposing a state-mandated local
program. The bill also would specify that private school instruction at the
elementary level includes kindergarten.



AB 765

Level 1
Support

AB 1133

Level 1

AB 1161

Level 1

(Ridley-Thomas) Child Care and Development: Reimbursement Rates
Current Text: Amended 3/26/2015

Final Outcome/Status: FAILED PASSAGE (Assembly Appropriations)
Summary: This bill would provide that the child care standard
reimbursement rate is not intended to fund mandated costs imposed upon
child development programs due to actions of law relating to minimum
wage requirements, health insurance requirements, new or increased
fees, new or expanded program requirements, or other cost increases due
to legislative action. The bill would require the standard reimbursement
rate to be raised as needed to provide a living wage, reasonable health
insurance, and retirement benefits for employees, to support the
recruitment and retention of skilled and trained teachers, to support the
financial stability of programs and educational quality, and to achieve
gender pay equity. The bill would define cost-of-living adjustment to be,
among other things, at least equal to the amount of the inflation
adjustments given to K-12 education programs.

(Achadjian) School-Based Early Mental Health Intervention and
Prevention Services Support Program

Current Text: Amended 4/15/15

Final Outcome/Status: FAILED PASSAGE (Assembly Appropriations)
Summary: The School-Based Early Mental Health Intervention and
Prevention Services for Children Act of 1991 authorizes the Director of Health
Care Services, in consultation with the Superintendent of Public Instruction, to
provide matching grant to local educational agencies to pay the state share of
the costs of providing school-based early mental health intervention and
prevention services to eligible pupils at school sites, subject to the availability
of funding each year. This bill would expand the definition of an eligible pupil
to include a pupil who attends a state preschool program at a publicly funded
elementary school and a pupil who is in transitional kindergarten, thereby
extending the application of the act to those persons.

(Olsen) Preschool: Privately Funded Pilot Program: Tax Credits

Current Text: Amended 7/2/2015

Final Outcome/Status: FAILED PASSAGE (Senate Appropriations)
Summary: This bill would, until January 1, 2021, authorize the California
Department of Education (CDE), as part of a pilot program, to accept
monetary contributions made to the California Preschool Investment Fund,
which this bill would create, by a person for purposes of preschool
education, as provided. The bill would require the money in the fund to be
used to, among other things, fund state preschools part of the California
state preschool program located in one of the 5 participating counties, as
provided. The bill would require participating counties to report to CDE's
Early Education and Support Division regarding the county's assessment
of how the pilot program is performing. The bill would require any moneys
remaining in the fund after January 1, 2021, to be transferred to any other
state fund identified by CDE that provides funding for increased access to
preschool programs for low-income children.



ACR 77

Level 1
Support

SB 567

Level 1

(Stone, Mark) California Early Intervention Services Act

Current Text: Chaptered 9/03/15

Final Outcome/Status: CHAPTERED

Summary: This measure would recognize that every child who needs
comprehensive health and early intervention services and supports in
order to achieve his or her developmental potential should have those
services easily accessible, sufficient, responsive, timely, and of high
quality. The measure would further urge the Legislature to leverage
existing efforts and statutes to ensure an accountable, results-oriented,
and coordinated network of resources in order to provide multidisciplinary
early identification and intervention services and supports to California
infants and toddlers.

(Liu) Child Care Programs: Continuity of Services

Current Text: Introduced 2/26/2015

Final Outcome/Status: FAILED PASSAGE (Senate Appropriations)
Summary: Current law authorizes a family enrolled in state or federally
funded child care and development program whose services would
otherwise be terminated because the family no longer meets the program
criteria to continue to receive child development services in another state
or a federally funded child care and development program, as provided.
This bill would require a child to be deemed eligible for the remainder of
the program year subsequent to enrollment in a state or federally funded
child care program.

REVENUE AND GOVERNANCE

AB 216

Level 1
Support

AB 1162

Level 1
Support

(Garcia) Product Sales to Minors: Vapor Products

Current Text: Enrolled 9/09/15

Final Outcome/Status: CHAPTERED

Summary: Current law prohibits the sale of electronic cigarettes to people
under 18 years of age, and defines "electronic cigarette" as a device that
can provide an inhalable dose of nicotine by delivering a vaporized
solution. This bill prohibits the sale of any device intended to deliver a non-
nicotine product in a vapor state, to be directly inhaled by the user, to a
person under 18 years of age, or to a person under 21 years of age if

SB 151 of the 2015-16 Regular Session is enacted and takes effect. The
bill exempts from its prohibition the sale of a drug or medical device that
has been approved by the federal Food and Drug Administration.

(Holden) Medi-Cal: Tobacco Cessation

Current Text: Enrolled 9/15/15

Final Outcome/Status: VETOED

Summary: This bill would have provided that tobacco cessation services
are covered benefits under the Medi-Cal program.

Veto Message: The Governor vetoed AB 1162 stating that it unnecessarily
codifies certain existing health care benefits or require the expansion or
development of new benefits and procedures in the Medi-Cal program. The bill
would require new spending at a time when there is considerable uncertainty
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AB 1396

Level 1

ABX2 6

Level 1
Support

ABX2 8

Level 1
Support

in the funding of this program. The Governor further stated he could not
support this measure until the fiscal outlook for Medi-Cal is stabilized.

(Bonta) Public Health Finance

Current Text: Amended: 6/3/2015

Final Outcome/Status: 2 YEAR BILL

Summary: This bill would require moneys collected and deposited in the
California Tobacco Tax Act of 2015 Fund from an additional tax to be
imposed on the distribution of cigarettes, a related floor stock tax, and a
cigarette indicia adjustment tax to be transferred from that fund to the
California Children and Families Trust Fund, which is a continuously
appropriated fund, thereby making an appropriation, the Cigarette and
Tobacco Products Surtax Fund, the Breast Cancer Fund, and the General
Fund, as necessary to offset revenue decreases to those funds directly
resulting from additional taxes to be imposed. The bill also would make
funds of accounts in the California Tobacco Tax Act of 2015 Fund available
to specified state entities upon appropriation by the Legislature to
supplement tobacco prevention and control programs, to improve existing
programs to provide quality and access to health care programs for families
and children, and to supplement funding for the enforcement of laws that
regulate the distribution and sale of cigarettes and other tobacco products.
The bill would become operative only if SB 591 of the 2015-16 Regular
Session is also enacted and takes effect on or before January 1, 2016.

(Cooper) Electronic Cigarettes

Current Text: Amended 8/27/15

Final Outcome/Status: Assembly Floor Third Reading

Summary: This bill would define the term "smoking" for purposes of the Stop
Tobacco Access to Kids Enforcement (STAKE) Act. The bill would also change
the STAKE Act's definition of "tobacco products” to include electronic devices,
such as electronic cigarettes, that deliver nicotine or other vaporized liquids,
and make furnishing such a tobacco product to a minor a misdemeanor. The
bill would include in the definition of tobacco products for the purposes of those
provisions relating to licenses for retailers the STAKE Act's new definition of
tobacco products. The bill would require a retailer that seeks to sell a tobacco
product that is not subject to imposition of a tax under the Cigarette and
Tobacco Products Tax Law to pay a one-time license fee to engage in the sale
of that product. The bill would require all cartridges for electronic cigarettes and
solutions for filling or refilling an electronic cigarette to be in childproof
packaging. The bill would make these provisions operative on October 1, 2016.
The bill also would make the use of electronic cigarettes in some restricted
locations a violation punishable as an infraction.

(Wood) Tobacco Products: Minimum Legal Age

Current Text: Amended 9/04/15

Final Outcome/Status: Assembly Floor Third Reading

Summary: The Stop Tobacco Access to Kids Enforcement (STAKE) Act,
establishes various requirements for distributors and retailers relating to



ABX2 10

Level 1
Support

ABX2 11

Level 1
Support

tobacco sales to minors. Current law requires the Department of Public Health
to conduct random, onsite sting inspections of tobacco product retailers with
the assistance of persons under 18 years of age. This bill would extend the
applicability of those provisions to persons under 21 years of age. The bill
would authorize the Department of Public Health to conduct random, onsite
string inspections of tobacco product retailers with the assistance of persons
under 21 years of age.

(Bloom) Local Taxes: Authorization: Cigarette and Tobacco Products
Current Text: Introduced 7/16/15

Final Outcome/Status: Assembly Floor Third Reading

Summary: The Cigarette and Tobacco Products Tax Law imposes a tax on
every distributor of cigarettes and tobacco products at specified rates. That
law specifies that the taxes imposed by that law are in lieu of all other state,
county, municipal, or district taxes on the privilege of distributing cigarettes or
tobacco products. The California Constitution prohibits the Legislature from
imposing taxes for local purposes, but allows the Legislature to authorize local
governments to impose them. This bill would authorize the board of
supervisors of a county or city and county to impose a tax on the privilege of
distributing cigarettes and tobacco products in the county or city and county,
including within an incorporated city within the county.

(Nazarian) Cigarette and Tobacco Product Licensing: Fees and Funding
Current Text: Introduced 7/16/15

Final Outcome/Status: Assembly Floor Third Reading

Summary: The Cigarette and Tobacco Products Licensing Act of 2003
requires the Board of Equalization (BOE) to administer a statewide program to
license manufacturers, importers, distributors, wholesalers, and retailers of
cigarettes and tobacco products. That act requires retailers of cigarettes and
tobacco products to obtain a separate license for each retail location, to be
issued by the BOE upon receipt of a completed application and payment of a
one-time fee, unless specified conditions apply. This bill would require a fee of
$265 to be submitted with each license application, as described above. The
bill would require, for calendar years beginning on and after January 1, 2016,
every retailer to file an application for renewal of a retailer's license
accompanied with a fee of $265 per retail location, in the form and manner
prescribed by the BOE. The Cigarette and Tobacco Products Licensing Act of
2003 requires every wholesaler and distributor who commences business
selling or distributing cigarettes or tobacco products, or who commences doing
so at a new or different place of business in the state, to apply for a license
accompanied by a required fee of $1,000 for each location. The act also
requires wholesalers and distributors to file an application for a renewal of
license accompanied by a required fee of $1,000 for each location where
cigarettes and tobacco products are sold. The bill would raise the fees
described above to $1,200. The bill would require the BOE to report to the
Legislature no later than January 1, 2019 regarding the adequacy of funding
for the Cigarette and Tobacco Products Licensing Act of 2003.



ABX2 16

Level 1

SB 24

Level 1

(Bonta) Public Health: Cigarette and Tobacco Products: Electronic
Cigarettes: Taxes: California Health Care, Research, and Prevention
Tobacco Tax Act of 2015

Current Text: Introduced 8/26/15

Final Outcome/Status: Assembly Public Health and Developmental Services
Summary: This bill would expand the definition of tobacco products for
purposes of that act to include electronic cigarettes thereby subjecting
manufacturers, importers, distributors, wholesalers, and retailers of electronic
cigarettes to the same licensing requirements imposed on tobacco products.
The bill would impose an additional tax on the distribution of cigarettes at the
rate of $2 per pack of cigarettes. The bill additionally would impose a tax on
the distribution of electronic cigarettes based on the wholesale cost, at a rate
determined annually that is equivalent to the cigarette tax rate, which would be
$2.87 per package of 20 cigarettes. This bill would expand the definition of
"tobacco products” for purposes of the Cigarette and Tobacco Products Tax
Law to include electronic cigarettes, thereby subjecting distributors,
wholesalers, and transporters of electronic cigarettes to, among other things,
the same licensing, bonding, and registration requirements imposed on
distributors, wholesalers, and transporters of tobacco products. The bill would
provide that the revenues collected from the taxes imposed on cigarettes and
electronic cigarettes by this bill, less refunds, would not be considered General
Fund revenues and would be deposited in the California Health Care,
Research, and Prevention Tobacco Tax Act of 2015 Fund created by this bill.
The bill would require moneys in the California Health Care, Research, and
Prevention Tobacco Tax Act of 2015 Fund to be continuously appropriated
without regard to fiscal year to the Controller, to be used to fund health care
and prevention programs.

(Hill) Electronic Cigarettes: Licensing and Restrictions

Current Text: Amended 6/1/2015

Final Outcome/Status: 2 YEAR BILL

Summary: This bill would extend the requirements of the STAKE Act to the
sale of electronic cigarettes to persons under 18 years of age. The bill
would extend the requirements of the STAKE Act to the sale of electronic
cigarettes to persons under 21 years of age if SB 151 of the 2015-16
Regular Session is enacted and takes effect. The bill would require the
Department of Public Health to enforce the STAKE Act's provisions with
regard to sales of electronic cigarettes commencing July 1, 2016. The bill
would require cartridges for electronic cigarettes and solutions for filling
electronic cigarettes be in child-proof packaging to protect children from
opening and ingesting the contents. The bill would require the Board of
Equalization (BOE) to administer a statewide program to license retailers of
electronic cigarettes. The bill would require retailers to apply for a license
to sell electronic cigarettes and pay a specified license fee, commencing
July 1, 2016, and to display the license at each retail location commencing
September 30, 2016. The bill would require BOE to administer a statewide
program to license retailers of electronic cigarettes, and use the revenue
from this license fee only for purposes of administering the licensure
program for retailers selling electronic cigarettes. The bill would prohibit the
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SB 140

Level 1
Support

SB 151

Level 1
Support

SB 591

Level 1

use of electronic cigarettes in a variety of specified areas where the
smoking of cigarettes and other tobacco products is prohibited.

(Leno) Electronic Cigarettes

Current Text: Amended 6/1/2015

Final Outcome/Status: FAILED PASSAGE (Assembly Governmental
Organization)

Summary: This bill would define the term "smoking"” for purposes of the
Stop Tobacco Access to Kids Enforcement (STAKE) Act. The bill also
would change the STAKE Act's definition of tobacco products to include
electronic devices, such as electronic cigarettes, that deliver nicotine or
other vaporized liquids, and make furnishing such a tobacco product to a
minor a misdemeanor. The bill would change that act's definition of tobacco
products to reflect the STAKE Act's new definition of tobacco products. The
bill would change the location restrictions for smoking cigarettes and other
tobacco products to reflect the STAKE Act's definitions of smoking and
tobacco products. The bill would make the use of electronic cigarettes in
restricted locations a violation punishable as an infraction. The bill would
declare that its provisions do not affect any current law or regulation that
prohibits the smoking of medical marijuana in any place where smoking is
prohibited by law.

(Hernandez) Tobacco Products: Minimum Legal Age

Current Text: Introduced 1/29/2015

Final Outcome/Status: 2 YEAR BILL

Summary: The Stop Tobacco Access to Kids Enforcement (STAKE) Act,
establishes various requirements for distributors and retailers relating to
tobacco sales to minors. Current law requires the Department of Public
Health to conduct random, onsite sting inspections of tobacco product
retailers with the assistance of persons under 18 years of age. This bill
would extend the applicability of those provisions to persons under 21
years of age. The bill would authorize the Department of Public Health to
conduct random, onsite string inspections of tobacco product retailers with
the assistance of persons under 21 years of age.

(Pan) Cigarette and Tobacco Products Taxes: California Tobacco Tax
Act of 2015

Current Text: Amended 6/2/2015

Final Outcome/Status: 2 YEAR BILL

Summary: This bill would impose an additional tax on the distribution of
cigarettes at the rate of $0.10 for each cigarette distributed, which would
be $2.00 per pack. The bill would provide that the revenues collected from
the additional tax be deposited in the California Tobacco Tax Act of 2015
Fund created by this bill, which would be a continuously appropriated fund,
and transferred into the Tobacco Prevention and Education Account, the
Tobacco Disease Related Health Care Account, and the Tobacco Law
Enforcement Account to be expended for tobacco prevention and
education, improve existing programs to provide quality and access to
health care programs for families and children, supplement funding for the
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SBX25

Level 1
Support

SBX27

Level 1
Support

SBX2 9

Level 1
Support

enforcement of laws that regulate the distribution and sale of cigarettes
and other tobacco products, and other specified purposes. The bill would
require moneys in the California Tobacco Tax Act of 2015 Fund to be
transferred from the fund to the California Children and Families First Trust
Fund, which is a continuously appropriated fund, the Cigarette and
Tobacco Products Surtax Fund, the Breast Cancer Fund, and the General
Fund, as necessary to offset revenue decreases to those funds directly
resulting from imposition of additional taxes by these provisions.

(Leno) Electronic Cigarettes

Current Text: Amended 8/26/15

Final Outcome/Status: Assembly Desk for Assignment

Summary: This bill would define the term "smoking" for purposes of the Stop
Tobacco Access to Kids Enforcement (STAKE) Act. The bill would also
change the STAKE Act's definition of "tobacco products” to include electronic
devices, such as electronic cigarettes, that deliver nicotine or other vaporized
liquids, and make furnishing such a tobacco product to a minor a
misdemeanor. The bill would include in the definition of tobacco products for
the purposes of those provisions relating to licenses for retailers the STAKE
Act's new definition of tobacco products. The bill would require a retailer that
seeks to sell a tobacco product that is not subject to imposition of a tax under
the Cigarette and Tobacco Products Tax Law to pay a one-time license fee to
engage in the sale of that product, as specified. The bill would require all
cartridges for electronic cigarettes and solutions for filling or refilling an
electronic cigarette to be in childproof packaging, as prescribed. The bill would
make these provisions operative on October 1, 2016. The bill also would make
the use of electronic cigarettes in some restricted locations, as specified, a
violation punishable as an infraction.

(Hernandez) Tobacco Products: Minimum Legal Age

Current Text: 7/16/15

Final Outcome/Status: Assembly Desk for Assignment

Summary: The Stop Tobacco Access to Kids Enforcement (STAKE) Act
establishes various requirements for distributors and retailers relating to
tobacco sales to minors. Current law requires the Department of Public Health
to conduct random, onsite sting inspections of tobacco product retailers with
the assistance of persons under 18 years of age. This bill would extend the
applicability of those provisions to persons under 21 years of age. The bill
would authorize the Department of Public Health to conduct random, onsite
string inspections of tobacco product retailers with the assistance of persons
under 21 years of age.

(McGuire) Local Taxes: Authorization: Cigarettes and Tobacco Products
Current Text: Introduced 7/16/15

Final Outcome/Status: Assembly Desk for Assignment

Summary: The Cigarette and Tobacco Products Tax Law imposes a tax on
every distributor of cigarettes and tobacco products at specified rates. That
law specifies that the taxes imposed by that law are in lieu of all other state,
county, municipal, or district taxes on the privilege of distributing cigarettes or

10



SBX2 10

Level 1
Support

SBX2 13

Level 1

tobacco products. The California Constitution prohibits the Legislature from
imposing taxes for local purposes, but allows the Legislature to authorize local
governments to impose them. This bill would authorize the board of
supervisors of a county or city and county to impose a tax on the privilege of
distributing cigarettes and tobacco products in the county or city and county,
including within an incorporated city within the county.

(Beall) Cigarette and Tobacco Product Licensing: Fees and Funding
Current Text: Introduced 7/16/15

Final Outcome/Status: Assembly Desk for Assignment

Summary: The Cigarette and Tobacco Products Licensing Act of 2003
requires the Board of Equalization (BOE) to administer a statewide program to
license manufacturers, importers, distributors, wholesalers, and retailers of
cigarettes and tobacco products. That act requires retailers of cigarettes and
tobacco products to obtain a separate license for each retail location, to be
issued by the BOE upon receipt of a completed application and payment of a
one-time fee, unless specified conditions apply. This bill would require a fee of
$265 to be submitted with each license application, as described above. The
bill would require, for calendar years beginning on and after January 1, 2016,
every retailer to file an application for renewal of a retailer's license
accompanied with a fee of $265 per retail location, in the form and manner
prescribed by the BOE. The Cigarette and Tobacco Products Licensing Act of
2003 requires every wholesaler and distributor who commences business
selling or distributing cigarettes or tobacco products, or who commences doing
so at a new or different place of business in the state, to apply for a license
accompanied by a required fee of $1,000 for each location. The act also
requires wholesalers and distributors to file an application for a renewal of
license accompanied by a required fee of $1,000 for each location where
cigarettes and tobacco products are sold. The bill would raise the fees
described above to $1,200. The bill would require the BOE to report to the
Legislature no later than January 1, 2019 regarding the adequacy of funding
for the Cigarette and Tobacco Products Licensing Act of 2003.

(Pan) Public Health: Cigarette and Tobacco Products: Electronic
Cigarettes: Taxes: California Health Care, Research, and Prevention
Tobacco Tax Act of 2015

Current Text: Introduced 8/26/15

Final Outcome/Status: Senate Public Health and Developmental Services
Summary: This bill would expand the definition of tobacco products for
purposes of that act to include electronic cigarettes thereby subjecting
manufacturers, importers, distributors, wholesalers, and retailers of electronic
cigarettes to the same licensing requirements imposed on tobacco products.
The bill would impose an additional tax on the distribution of cigarettes at the
rate of $2 per pack of cigarettes. The bill additionally would impose a tax on
the distribution of electronic cigarettes based on the wholesale cost, at a rate
determined annually that is equivalent to the cigarette tax rate, which would be
$2.87 per package of 20 cigarettes. This bill would expand the definition of
"tobacco products" for purposes of the Cigarette and Tobacco Products Tax
Law to include electronic cigarettes, thereby subjecting distributors,
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wholesalers, and transporters of electronic cigarettes to, among other things,
the same licensing, bonding, and registration requirements imposed on
distributors, wholesalers, and transporters of tobacco products. The bill would
provide that the revenues collected from the taxes imposed on cigarettes and
electronic cigarettes by this bill, less refunds, would not be considered General
Fund revenues and would be deposited in the California Health Care,
Research, and Prevention Tobacco Tax Act of 2015 Fund created by this bill.
The bill would require moneys in the California Health Care, Research, and
Prevention Tobacco Tax Act of 2015 Fund to be continuously appropriated
without regard to fiscal year to the Controller, to be used to fund health care
and prevention programs.

(Hernandez) Tobacco: Electronic Cigarettes: Taxes: Managed Care
Organization Provider Tax: In-Home Support Services

Current Text: 9/09/15

Final Outcome/Status: Senate Floor Third Reading

Summary: This bill would impose an additional tax on the distribution of
cigarettes at the rate of $2 per package of cigarettes. The bill would
additionally impose a tax on the distribution of electronic cigarettes based on
the wholesale cost, at a rate determined annually that is equivalent to the
cigarette tax rate, which would be $2.87 per package of 20 cigarettes. The bill
would expand the definition of "tobacco products” for purposes of the Cigarette
and Tobacco Products Tax Law to include electronic cigarettes, thereby
subjecting distributors, wholesalers, and transporters of electronic cigarettes to
the same licensing, bonding, and registration requirements. The bill would
provide that revenues collected from the taxes imposed on cigarettes and
electronic cigarettes would not be considered General Fund revenues and
would be deposited in the California Health Care, Research, and Prevention
Tobacco Tax Act of 2015 Fund created by this bill. The bill would continuously
appropriate those amounts for allocation and be expended for specified
purposes, which include: (1) offsetting any revenue decreases directly
resulting from the additional taxes imposed by this bill to the Cigarette and
Tobacco Products Surtax Fund, the Breast Cancer Fund, and the California
Children and Families Trust Fund; (2) reimbursing the BOE and the State
Auditor for administrative duties imposed by the bill; (3) providing funding to
the University of California for the purpose of increasing the number of
physicians trained in California; (4) funding state and local law enforcement
efforts and investigative activities to reduce illegal sales of tobacco products;
(5) providing funding to the Department of Health Care Services for existing
health care programs and services and to draw down federal funding; (6)
funding the California Department of Public Health Tobacco Control Program;
and (7) supplementing the Cigarette and Tobacco Products Surtax Medical
Research Program administered by the University of California. The bill also
would establish a new managed care organization provider tax, to be
administered by the Department of Health Care Services in consultation with
the Department of Managed Health Care. The tax would be assessed by the
department on licensed health care service plans and managed care plans
contracted with the department to provide Medi-Cal services. The bill would
establish the Health and Human Services Special Fund in the State Treasury,
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into which all revenues, less refunds, would be deposited. The bill would
require $230,000,000 in the fund to be transferred to the Developmental
Disabilities Fund, which the bill would create, to be used upon appropriation to
increase funding provided to regional centers and increase rates paid to
service providers for providing services to persons with disabilities. The
remaining moneys in the fund would be continuously appropriated to the
department for funding the nonfederal share of Medi-Cal managed care rates.

STRONG AND ENGAGED FAMILIES

AB 50

Level 1
Support

AB 908

Level 1
Support

ACR 38

Level 1
Support

(Mullin) Medi-Cal: Evidence-Based Home Visiting Programs

Current Text: Enrolled 9/23/15

Final Outcome/Status: VETOED

Summary: This bill would have required the Department of Health Care
Services (DHCS), in consultation with specified stakeholders, to develop a
feasibility plan on or before January 1, 2017, that describes the costs,
benefits, and any potential barriers related to offering evidence-based home
visiting programs to Medi-Cal eligible pregnant and parenting women. The
bill also would have required the DHCS, in developing the plan, to consider,
among other things, establishing Medi-Cal coverage for evidence-based
home visiting program services and incentives for Medi-Cal providers to
offer those services, and would have required the DHCS, in developing the
plan, to prioritize the identification of funding sources, other than General
Fund moneys, to fund evidence-based home visiting program services.
Veto Message: The Governor vetoed AB 50 stating that it unnecessarily
codifies certain existing health care benefits or require the expansion or
development of new benefits and procedures in the Medi-Cal program. The bill
would require new spending at a time when there is considerable uncertainty
in the funding of this program. The Governor further stated he could not
support this measure until the fiscal outlook for Medi-Cal is stabilized.

(Gomez) Disability Compensation: Disability Insurance

Current Text: Amended 9/04/15

Final Outcome/Status: 2 YEAR BILL

Summary: This bill would increase the maximum duration of the Paid Family
Leave insurance benefits from 6 to 8 weeks, and would establish a minimum
weekly benefit amount of $50.

(Brown) California Task Force on Family Caregiving

Current Text: Chaptered 9/25/15

Final Outcome/Status: CHAPTERED

Summary: This measure would establish the California Task Force on
Family Caregiving, to meet monthly to examine issues relative to the
challenges faced by family caregivers and opportunities to improve
caregiver support, review the current network and the services and
supports available to caregivers, and make policy recommendations to the
Legislature. The task force would be required to submit an interim report to
the Legislature no later than January 1, 2017, and a final report no later
than July 1, 2018.
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Level 1

(Jackson) Income Taxes: Credit: Child Care

Current Text: Amended 8/20/15

Final Outcome/Status: FAILED PASSAGE (Assembly Appropriations)
Summary: This bill, for taxable years beginning on and after January 1, 2016,
and before January 1, 2021, would allow a credit in the amount of 30% of the
costs of startup expenses for child care programs, constructing a child care
facility, providing child care information and referral services, and contributing
to a qualified care plan, as defined. The bill would authorize, in the case where
the credit allowed for the taxable year exceeds the “net tax” or “tax” the excess
to be carried over to reduce the “net tax” or “tax” in the following year, and the
succeeding 7 years if necessary. The bill would also require the Franchise Tax
Board to report to the Legislature on the effectiveness of these credits.
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